Sharks

Refereeing Blunder Leads To 2-Goal Swing In San Jose

View Comments
San Jose Sharks Logo

San Jose Sharks
Upcoming Games

Buy Sharks Tickets Full Schedule
Tuesday Dec 30
vs. Canucks
Saturday Jan 3
vs. Blues
Saturday Jan 10
vs. Rangers
Sharks Central
Shop for Sharks Gear
Buy Sharks Tickets

NHL Scoreboard
NHL Standings
Team STATS
Team Schedule
Team Roster
Team Injuries

SAN JOSE (AP) ― A refereeing mistake led to a two-goal swing in the Los Angeles Kings’ game against the San Jose Sharks.

With San Jose leading 3-1 late in the second period Monday night, the officials failed to see Ryan Smyth had clearly scored for the Kings. San Jose’s Marc-Edouard Vlasic retrieved the puck from inside the net, and the officials allowed play to continue while Smyth and his teammates briefly celebrated.

The teams kept playing until Torrey Mitchell scored a breakaway goal that appeared to put the Sharks ahead 4-1 with 5:14 to play.

But after video review, the officials credited Smyth for his goal, wiped Mitchell’s goal off the scoreboard and wound the clock back 71 seconds to 6:25. The Sharks led 3-2 after two periods and ultimately won the game 6-3.

(© 2010 The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.)

View Comments
blog comments powered by Disqus
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 56,794 other followers