No Cy Young Three-Peat For Giants’ Lincecum

View Comments
(L-R) Tim Lincecum, Roy Halladay (AP)

(L-R) Tim Lincecum, Roy Halladay (AP)

Giants Central
Shop Team Gear
Shop Tickets

MLB Scoreboard
MLB Standings
Team Schedule
Team Roster
Team Injuries

SAN FRANCISCO (CBS / AP) — Philadelphia Phillies’ ace pitcher Roy Halladay unanimously won the National League Cy Young Award on Tuesday, receiving all 32 first-place votes in results released by the Baseball Writers’ Association of America.

The San Francisco Giants’ Tim Lincecum, who won the previous two NL Cy Young awards, finished 11th in this year’s voting.

Lincecum had more strikeouts, but Halladay’s durability and dependability made him the easy choice after leading the league with 21 wins and topping the majors in innings, shutouts and complete games.

“It’s surprising,” Halladay said. “There could have been a lot of cases made, strong cases.”

Halladay split a pair of matchups with Lincecum in the NL championship series. The Giants won in six games, blunting the Phillies’ bid to reach the World Series for the third straight year. The Giants went on to defeat the Texas Rangers to claim the Series championship.

(© 2010 CBS Broadcasting Inc. and The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.)

View Comments
blog comments powered by Disqus

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 58,828 other followers