STANFORD (CBS / AP) ― Stanford quarterback Andrew Luck is a finalist for the Walter Camp college football player of the year award.

He’s joined by Auburn quarterback Cam Newton, cleared by the NCAA to play in the SEC title game, and Oregon Running back LaMichael James. The award is voted on by head coaches and sports information directors at bowl subdivision schools.

Luck has passed for 3,051 yards and 28 touchdowns for the No. 5 Cardinal.

Newton has thrown for 2,254 yards and 24 touchdowns while running for 1,336 yards and 18 touchdowns for No. 2 Auburn. The NCAA declared him eligible to play Wednesday after investigating a pay-for-play scandal involving his father.

James, the nation’s leading rusher, is averaging almost 155 yards per game for the top-ranked Ducks.

The winner will be announced on Dec. 9.

(© 2010 CBS Broadcasting Inc. and The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.)


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

More From CBS San Francisco

Get The New CBS SF Bay Area Local App
LIVE: Monday through Friday from 3am – 3pm PST

Watch & Listen LIVE