Reba McEntire & Taylor Swift Among ACM Winners

NASHVILLE, Tenn. (CBS/AP) – The Academy of Country Music Awards don’t take place until this weekend ON CBS 5, but a number of country superstars have already won some off-camera accolades.

Those stars include Reba McEntire, Taylor Swift and Garth Brooks.

PICTURES: ACM Red Carpet 2010
PICTURES: ACM Winners’ Circle 2010

ACMs host McEntire is this year’s career achievement winner, Swift won the Jim Reeves International Award for spreading an appreciation of country music around the world and Brooks won the Cliffie Stone Pioneer Award with the Larry Gatlin & The Gatlin Brothers. The award honors pioneers in the genre.

PICTURES: Reba McEntire
PICTURES: Taylor Swift

The honors were announced Tuesday. The ACMs will air live Sunday in Las Vegas on CBS 5.

Other winners include Tom T. Hall and Hank Cochran (the Poet’s Award for songwriting), Paul Worley (producer of the year) and the film “Country Strong” (Tex Ritter Award for use of country music in film).

A complete list of winners is on the Academy’s website.

(Copyright 2011 by CBS San Francisco. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed. Wire services may have contributed to this report.)


More From CBS San Francisco

Get The New CBS SF Bay Area Local App
Got Our Weather App?

Listen Live