OAKLAND (CBS) — The Oakland Unified School District released a list of schools they would like to close in the first step toward a multi-million dollar consolidation plan.

Five elementary schools are on the list: Lakeview, Lazear, Marshall, Maxwell Park and Santa Fe.

Officials schools with the fewest students will be the first to close.

District officials estimate a savings of between $200,000 and $400,000 for each school closure and higher savings from larger schools.

(Copyright 2011 by CBS San Francisco. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.)

Comments (6)
  1. Jay Ant says:

    are they in the business of saving money or saving kids. lemme guess..

  2. eastbayman says:

    they are aiming to save their own self.where is no kids will be left behind law?

  3. NFN says:

    Does not seem like a lot of money…even on the high end, the savings is only $2MM…Chump Change

  4. Moock says:

    Where are they putting all the kids?

  5. Oaktowndad says:

    If we measure outcome and results then, Government run ‘schools’ are in the business of employing teachers, school administrators, janitors and staff not educating kids.
    The system is not just broke, it is broken.

  6. Me says:

    Tell the truth on here and they won’t print what you write………..Truth hurts huh Channel 5

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Watch & Listen LIVE