(CBS News) “If you liked 50 Shades of Grey, you’ll love the Sleeping Beauty trilogy.” That phrase will be printed on every book jacket of Anne Rice’s “Sleeping Beauty” series, which will see a rerelease this week.

E.L. James’ runaway hit “50 Shades of Grey” has sparked Rice’s publisher to roll out the 1980s’ erotic book series, previously published under the name A. N. Roquelaure. The first novel arrived in 1983 and two others followed in 1984 and 1985.

anne rice Anne Rice To Rerelease 1980s Erotica TrilogyAccording to The New York Times, Rice, who is best known for her vampire novels, has written a new preface for the books, which will now feature her name as author, along with: “writing as A. N. Roquelaure.”

Interest in the series has grown in recent months, a spokesperson for publisher Plume told the Times.

The online book description notes that Rice “retells the Beauty story and probes the unspoken implications of this lush, suggestive tale by exploring its undeniable connection to sexual desire.”

Rice mentioned the trilogy on her Facebook page, noting that she wrote the erotica books many years ago because she “could not find an authentic erotica in bookstores.” In the 60’s and early 70’s Rice attended San Francisco State University where she honed her writing skills and finished her study in Creative Writing.

Rice’s trilogy, “The Claiming of Sleeping Beauty,” “Beauty’s Release” and “Beauty’s Punishment,” will go on sale Thursday.

(Copyright 2012 by CBS San Francisco. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.)

Comments (3)

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Watch & Listen LIVE