kpix-7-2013-masthead kcbs 7-2013-masthead


List: California State Senators Who Voted ‘No’ On Smartphone Kill Switch Bill

View Comments

(Photo by KIM JAE-HWAN/AFP/Getty Images)

Get Breaking News First

Receive News, Politics, and Entertainment Headlines Each Morning.
Sign Up

(CBS SF) — A bill that would force electronics manufacturers to install a shut-off function in all smartphones narrowly failed in the state Senate on Thursday.

The following is a list of state senators who voted ‘no’ on SB962

Sen. Joel Anderson
916 651-4036
R- Temecula
Not Available for Comment

Jim Beall
916 651-4015
D-Los Gatos/Campbell
Interviewed for KPIX story

Tom Berryhill
916 651-4014
No comment

Anthony Cannella
916 651-4012
No Comment

Lou Correa
916 651-4034
D-Santa ana
No Comment

Jean Fuller
916 651-4018
“Technologies already exists that gives conumera the ability to disable their phones when stolen or lost. …Another California-only mandate limits consumer choice and has potential to impact cell phone purchases in the state. “
Cathleen Galgiani
916 651-4005
No Comment

Dr. Ed Hernandez
916 651-4024
No Comment

Bob Huff
916 651-4029
On a flight – comment from floor

Steve Knight
R-Santa Clarita
916 651-4021
Cell 661-400-5207\
No Comment

Ricardo Lara
562- 529-3250
D-Bell gardens/Southgate
No Comment

Norma Torres
916 651-4032
Not available for comment

Mike Morrell
R-Riverside/San Bernardino
916 651-4023
No Comment

Jim Nielsen
916 651-4904
No Comment

Andy Vidak
916 651-4016
“Democrats and Republicans killed SB 962. The cell phone industry is voluntarily implementing a ‘kill switch’ on phones nationwide, so legislation is unnecessary and a waste of taxpayer dollars.”
Senator Andy Vidak (R-Hanford)

Mimi Walters
916 651-4037
No COmment

Mark Wyland
R-San Juan Capistrano
No Comment


View Comments
blog comments powered by Disqus