Drivers in California can legally read a map on their hand-held cellphones while behind the wheel, a state appeals court ruled Thursday.
The fine for illegally using a cellphone while driving in California would increase from $20 to $30 under a bill approved by the state Senate, although the actual cost would climb to at least $199 for first offenders once court fees are collected.
A bill up for debate in the California Senate Transportation Committee would make bike riders subject to fines similar to those imposed on drivers who are caught using a mobile device behind the wheel.
A study from the University of California, Berkeley said a nearly 4-year-old ban on drivers using hand-held cellphones is saving lives.
In an effort to persuade drivers not to break the law, a bill passed by the state legislature, and awaiting the governor’s signature, would raise the penalty from $20 to $309 for a first offense.
Don’t text behind the wheel, don’t drive drunk, and buckle up – consider yourself warned this holiday weekend, by the California Highway Patrol.
The California state Senate has approved a bill that would increase fines for texting or using a handheld cell phone while driving.
There’s a new effort to put some teeth in California’s ban on using cellphones while driving, making a second offense an even stiffer moving violation.
SAN JOSE, Calif. (KCBS) – The California Highway Patrol and law enforcement agencies across the Bay Area are joining forces today for a strict zero-tolerance campaign aimed at identifying and issuing citations to motorists talking […]