SAN FRANCISCO (CBS / AP) — Jimmy Spithill of Oracle Racing rebounded from last place at the start of the Super Sunday fleet race finale to win the America’s Cup World Series San Francisco championship.

Spithill and his crew of Dirk de Ridder, John Kostecki, Jono MacBeth and Joe Newton fought their way back through the fleet for a 17-second win over Oracle’s other team, skippered by Russell Coutts.

RELATED CONTENT: America’s Cup Photo Gallery

Spithill earned 40 points for the race and had 79 points for the series, tying him with British star Ben Ainslie of J.P. Morgan Ben Ainslie Racing. Spithill won the championship based on positions in the final race, in which Ainslie was fourth.

On Saturday, Spithill won the match racing championship an hour after capsizing and breaking frames in the wingsail during a fleet race. The crew also won the August America’s Cup World Series San Francisco championship.

Artemis Racing-White, skippered by Terry Hutchinson, placed third in Sunday’s race and finished third overall.

(Copyright 2012 CBS San Francisco & The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s