NEW YORK (CBS/AP) — General Mills is recalling 1.8 million boxes of Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios produced at a plant in Lodi, saying the cereal is labeled gluten-free but actually contains wheat.

The recall affects Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios that were made in July. The Minneapolis company says wheat flour was inadvertently used in a system that normally processes gluten-free oat flour.

READ MORE: Prompted By Drought Emergency, Morgan Hill Imposes Mandatory Water Restrictions

The use of wheat flour means the cereals are not gluten-free, and people with conditions like wheat allergies or celiac disease who consume it might suffer an allergic reaction or discomfort.

READ MORE: UPDATE Most Areas Allowed To Repopulate After Gas Leak In San Francisco's Inner Richmond

General Mills Inc. said Monday it will take the cereals out of warehouses and off store shelves, and says customers who cannot eat wheat should contact the company for a replacement box or a full refund.

MORE NEWS: UPDATE: PG&E Warns of Possible Rotating Outages as Bay Area Cooks Amid Heat Wave

© Copyright 2015 The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed