SACRAMENTO (CBS / AP) — Terminally ill California residents will be able to legally end their lives with medication prescribed by a doctor in three months.
State lawmakers adjourned a special session on health care Thursday, paving the way for California’s law allowing physician-assisted suicide to take effect in 90 days.READ MORE: UPDATE: Atmospheric River Crashes Onshore; Driving Rains, Gusty Winds, Flash Flood Fears
Dying patients hoping to use the law have been in limbo since state lawmakers approved it last year.
It passed following the heavily publicized case of Brittany Maynard, a 29-year-old California woman with brain cancer who moved to Oregon to legally end her life in 2014.READ MORE: Atmospheric River: PG&E Crews Respond to Widespread North Bay Outages
Opponents say the law could prompt premature suicides. Supporters say it gives the terminally ill a choice on how to end their lives.
© Copyright 2016 The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.MORE NEWS: Evacuation Order Issued for San Mateo County Areas Burned by CZU Lightning Complex Fire