By Hayden Wright

BERKELEY (RADIO.COM) – Paul Simon’s recently finished his thirteenth album, Stranger to Stranger, which is currently scheduled for release June 3, the same day as his Berkeley show. The record will be his first since 2011’s So Beautiful or So What.

READ MORE: UPDATE: Atmospheric River Crashes Onshore; Driving Rains, Gusty Winds, Flash Flood Fears

The folk rock legend recorded the album with longtime collaborator Roy Halee and imbued the songs with a range of influence, including Flamenco rhythms, Italian dance melodies and the offbeat styles of experimental composer Harry Partch, so don’t expect “The Sound of Silence”; Simon has other sounds in store for listeners.

“Sound is the theme of this album as much as it’s about the subjects of the individual songs,” he said. “If people get that, I’ll be pleased. The right song at the right time can live for generations. A beautiful sound, well that’s forever.”

READ MORE: Atmospheric River: PG&E Crews Respond to Widespread North Bay Outages

Simon has posted the first single, “Wristband,” which you can check out at

Tracklist for Stranger to Stranger
1. The Werewolf
2. Wristband
3. The Clock
4. Street Angel
5. Stranger to Stranger
6. In a Parade
7. Proof of Love
8. In the Garden of Edie
9. The Riverbank
10. Cool Papa Bell
11. Insomniac’s Lullaby
Paul Simon will perform at the Greek Theatre in Berkeley on June 3rd & 4th.

© 2016 CBS Interactive Inc. All Rights Reserved.
MORE NEWS: Evacuation Order Issued for San Mateo County Areas Burned by CZU Lightning Complex Fire