CANTON, Ohio (AP) _ Many consider him the greatest wide receiver in NFL history.

Former 49ers great Jerry Rice leads an illustrious group into the Pro Football Hall of Fame on Saturday.

Rice, who also played for the Oakland Raiders and Seattle Seahawks, holds numerous NFL records including 274 consecutive games with a catch, 11 straight 1,000-yard receiving seasons and career totals of 1,549 receptions for 22,895 yards and 197 receiving touchdowns.

Click to listen

“I am just honored … to stand up there with greatness,” Rice said.

Drafted in 1985 out of Mississippi Valley State, Rice would go on to earn three Super Bowl rings with the Niners and was named MVP in Super Bowl XXII.

He was also named first-team All-Pro 11 consecutive seasons and voted to 13 Pro Bowls. He was a member of the NFL’s All-Decade Teams of the 1980s and 1990s and also part of the NFL’s 75th Anniversary Team.

Steve Young, one of two Hall of Fame quarterbacks who threw to Rice, got the first hug from the new inductee, then said: “They made yards after the catch a stat because of Jerry Rice.”

Along with Rice, the other headliner in the Class of 2010 is former Dallas Cowboys running back Emmitt Smith.

Russ Grimm, Rickey Jackson, John Randle, Dick LeBeau and Floyd Little will also be inducted into the Hall of Fame in Canton, Ohio.

  1. Ginny says:

    I saw Jerry and his wife as they left a restaurant in Redwood City one Sunday when he was still a 49’er. The way he looked in a suit and the way he carried himself were both unforgettable pleasures to watch. Definitely star quality on and off the field!

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Watch & Listen LIVE