FRESNO (CBS/AP) – Four more California historic sites are joining the Cesar Chavez National Monument as places worthy of federal landmark protections.

Secretary of the Interior Ken Salazar announced on Friday that Drakes Bay Historic Archaeological District in Marin County, Knight’s Ferry Bridge in Stanislaus County, the U.S. Post Office and Courthouse in San Francisco and the U.S. Post Office and Courthouse in Los Angeles are considered important to the nation’s heritage.

The Drakes Bay site is where the English navigator is said to have first camped on American soil. The 379-foot Knights Ferry covered bridge is one of 100 of its type surviving. The San Francisco courthouse is an example of Beaux-Arts design, while the courthouse in Los Angeles was a scene of legal battles for Mexican-American civil rights.

KCBS’ Anna Duckworth Reports:

The National Historic Landmarks program qualifies sites for federal preservation advice.

(Copyright 2012 by CBS San Francisco. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.)


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

More From CBS San Francisco

Get The New CBS SF Bay Area Local App
LIVE: Monday through Friday from 3am – 3pm PST

Watch & Listen LIVE