SAN FRANCISCO (CBS SF) – A growing number of House Democrats, including some Bay Area lawmakers, have announced that they are boycotting Friday’s inauguration of President-elect Donald Trump.

More than a dozen members of California’s congressional delegation, including five House Democrats representing the Bay Area, have announced they are boycotting the inauguration as of Tuesday.

READ MORE: Napa Valley Looks to Restaurant Week to Help Jump-Start Economic Comeback

Rep. Barbara Lee of Oakland announced Thursday on Twitter that she would not attend, saying that she would be “organizing and preparing for resistance.”

Lee was among several House Democrats who raised objections to certifying the Electoral College vote during a joint session of Congress earlier this month.

Rep. Jared Huffman of San Rafael also announced last week on Facebook that he would “spend time with his constituents” at several events, including a naturalization ceremony and helping out with relief from recent floods.

READ MORE: Wind-Whipped Wildfire in Big Sur Shuts Hwy 1, Forces Evacuations

Another East Bay lawmaker, Mark DeSaulnier of Concord, announced his plans to boycott on Twitter.

Rep. Jerry McNerney (D-Stockton), whose district covers Eastern Contra Costa County, issued a statement Tuesday that he is not attending.

“The election of Mr. Trump lacks legitimacy due to Russian hacking, which Mr. Trump encouraged, the FBI’s biased involvement, and other irregularities, and I cannot sanction the inauguration by attending the ceremony. However, because I support the peaceful transition of power and respect the office of the presidency, I will work with the new administration when possible to deliver for my district and move our country forward,” McNerney said.

Not all Bay Area Democrats will be staying away, however. Democratic House Leader Nancy Pelosi, D-San Francisco, will be in
attendance, said spokesman Jorge Aguilar.

“She has a duty and a role and she’s a Democratic leader so she’s going to attend,” Aguilar said.

MORE NEWS: Curry Hits Winning Jumper, Warriors Beat Rockets 105-103

Zoe Lofgren, D-San Jose, will also attend “in recognition of the Office of the President, not the individual who will be holding that office,”
she said via Twitter Tuesday.