BERKELEY (CBS SF) — The University of California officials were urging foreign students and faculty from the seven countries affected by President Trump’s travel ban, not to travel abroad.

The 90-day ban denies entry into the United States for immigrants from Iran, Iraq, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria and Yemen.

READ MORE: Santa Rosa Lawmaker Proposes Plan For City-Sanctioned Sideshows

“At this time, we recommend that UC community members from these seven countries who hold a visa to enter the United States or who are lawful permanent residents do not travel outside of the United States,” said UC officials in a statement.

“We will continue to monitor and analyze the impact of the executive order and will issue additional guidance as soon as possible. Until then, if you are a visa holder or green card holder from one of these countries that is currently abroad, or you have any questions, please contact the International Studies Office on your campus.”

READ MORE: San Francisco Police Arrest Homicide Suspect Hours After Fatal Shooting

A Stanford graduate student returning from a research trip to Sudan was handcuffed and detained Friday night and later released. A University spokesperson said the student was a legal resident of the U.S.

Stanford issued a statement:

MORE NEWS: State Sen. Wiener's Recovery Incentives Act Would Pay Meth Addicts to Stay Sober

“An unfortunate consequence of the new policy appears to be that students and scholars from designated countries are, for the moment, effectively detainees in this country.”